Stiefel Hockey Summer Season Wrapup: Firing Squad and Goose Take Division Titles

The Stiefel Hockey league completed its summer season by crowning champions in both its “A” and “B” divisions.  In the “A” division Goose captured the title after sweeping Young’s Barber Shop in a best of 3 championship.  Matt Puntureri led the way for Goose picking up 21 goals in 4 playoff games with help from his brothers Nate, Michael, and Tyler. T.J. Hervatine was also a valuable player in the playoffs, Neil Parrish remained solid in net for another season with Goose.  Including the regular season and playoffs, Goose outscored their opponents by 132 to 46 in completing an undefeated season, with their closest victory coming in a one goal shootout win against Mr. Pink in August.

A Division UNDEFEATED Champions – Goose Back (L to R)… Tyler Puntureri, T.J Hervatine, Matt Puntureri, Michael Puntureri and Nathan Puntureri. Kneeling in from is Goaltender Neil Parrish

In the “B” division, a surprise matchup pitted the number 7 seed Rochester KM against the number 4 seed Firing Squad.  Rochester arrived in the finals after shocking the number 2 seed, defending league champion Turn4Toilets (Sponsored by William Schaffer)  5-3 in the first round and finishing off the number 6 seed Honey Badgers in the semi-finals. Matt LeDonne led the team in scoring including 4 goals in the team’s first round matchup. It was Firing Squad’s time to win it all however. The team paired matching 8-1 victories in the first two rounds of the playoffs over Venezie’s Sporting Goods and number 1 seed Darkness in route to the championship game. In the championship, Firing Squad overcame a short bench and penalty trouble to notch an 8-4 victory. Ben Krummert of Firing Squad buried 5 goals in the win. Team members included Ben, brother Jake Krummert, Preston Blackburn, goaltender Alex Fargali, Ethan Fuchs, Isaac Knight, Garrett Patton, Jimmy Sabatino, and Jon Sedgwick.

Congratulations to both league champions and we look forward to the fall session beginning on or about September 20th.

B Division Champions – Firing Squad Front (L to R)… Ben Krummert, Alex Fargali Back (L to R)… Preston Blackburn, Jake Krummert, Garrett Patton, Jimmy Sabatino, Ethan Fuchs Missing from Photo… Isaac Knight and Jon Sedgwick

Article submitted by Caleb Cragle

Be the first to comment on "Stiefel Hockey Summer Season Wrapup: Firing Squad and Goose Take Division Titles"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.